New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Easy-going man seeks serious relationship with confident woman in Ottawa-Gatineau area

Female (68) looking for Female Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

I am an easy-going, independent and publicity-shy man interested in a serious long-term relationship. I'm gainfully self-employed as a freelance interpreter and translator (EnglishFrenchGerman). My ideal female partner is easy on the eye, affable, confident, mature and self-respecting, preferably someone who resides in south-eastern Ontario and southern Quebec area. Right now, I’m enjoying my well-deserved retirement after an exciting and immensely illuminating diplomatic career. My three sons (aka “Eaglets”) now fly with their own wings. Reduced parental obligations leave me ample time to render diligent and invaluable volunteer service to Canada’s beautiful multicultural and multi-ethnic mosaic (or kaleidoscope???) I do this in the public school board and a few community associations and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

My eclectic taste in fashion, literature and music relentlessly follows the unique trajectory of someone who proudly self-identifies as a CITIZEN OF THE GLOBAL VILLAGE. I like to play an assortment of percussion instruments: tambourine, gongs (metal, wooden), African drums (“djembé”) et cetera. For me, singing with great gusto and dancing with scintillating vivacity are as easy as fish swimming along the seabed or the high-flying bird (eagle) majestically gliding in the rarefied air of the firmament where other birds will gasp for oxygen. As a former diplomat, I always strive to keep abreast of events in different parts of the world via social media platforms and an old, but very reliable palm-size, multi-band short wave radio.

Some pictures posted in my profile are recent. What you see is what you get (WYSWYG), pound for pound. My zodiac sign is Taurus. I don't have the appetite and stamina for juggling a serious long-term relationship with more than one woman at a time. As a self-respecting senior citizen, it's too late to start learning to be perfectly ambidextrous or effectively dance on several stools at the same time. I, therefore, believe in putting my cards on the table instead of beating about the bush. Upload a few recent full-body and head-to-toe pictures. I’ll be more inclined to reply to authentic/original, personal and heartfelt messages than “flirts,” standard one-liners and mere pat remarks, which sound hollow.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Here

My Jewish Preferences

How often do you go to synagogue?Sometimes

My Christian Preferences

Which Church were you raised in?Anglican
How often do you attend church?Holidays or Special Occassions
What's the name of the church or ministry which you attend?Igbo Church of Ottawa

Appearance

EthnicityBlack
National heritageNigerian
BuildAverage
Height5' 10" (178 cm)
Eye ColorBrown
Hair ColorBlack
Hair LengthShort
Best featureSmile
Body ArtNone
My AttractivenessAverage

Situation

Relationship StatusSeparated
Has childrenThree or more
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationFriends come over occasionally
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateYes
Have PetsBird
Has a carNo

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Bachelors
SpecialtyPolitics / Government
Employment StatusSelf-employed
Job TitleFreelance Interpreter-Translator (Eng, Fr, German)

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesNews, Cartoons, Documentaries, Dramas, Instructional, Sports, Science fiction
Favorite movies typesScience fiction, Comedy, Romance, Drama, Documentary, Animation
Music typesRap, Rock, Pop, Classical, Blues, Jazz, Latin, New age, Ambient, Dance, Soul, Reggae, Gospel, Folk
Favorite artistsBarry White, Bob Marley and Alfredo de Armenteros (aka "Chocolate")
Reading selectionAncient, Auto-biography, Biography, Business, Classic, Comic, Health, History, Humor, Instructional, Nature, Philosophy, Political, Reference, Religious, Satire, Science fiction
Favorite booksThings Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe, Cry the Beloved Country by Alan Paton and The Wretched of the Earth by Frantz Fanon
Idea of funHanging out with friends, entertaining them with drinks, food, music and rib-tickling jokes, partying, dancing, intellectually challenging and stimulating debates/discussions, picnics
HobbiesExercising, Sports, Reading, Learning, Music, Internet, Dancing, Family, Photography, Religion, spirituality, Theater, Travel, Cooking, Gardening, Volunteering

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingOne or two
Social behaviorFriendly
Friends describe asCool
In High School I was a(n)Quiet one
Sense of humorClever
My great timeHanging out with friends, Partying, Trying new things, Relaxing, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryPlay a harmonica, tenor saxophone or trumpet. Do improvised stand-up comedy (one-man show). Entertain people, especially senior citizens, with rib-tickling jokes and exotic karaoke songs from faraway lands. Drive a big city bus or an eighteen-wheeler truck across provincial and international borders, and faithfully keep a detailed journal, which could eventually be published.

Views

Political viewsMiddle of the road
ReligionChristian
Attend religious servicesOn holidays
Goal in lifeTo put my better foot forward all the time. Live life to the max and render diligent, invaluable service to my community. Simply put, do my best to be a good citizen of our global village and leave this world with a contagious smile.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Great skills, Empathy, Sensitivity, Boldness, Spontaneity, Wit, Thoughtfullness
Look for in a partnerI'm looking for a female partner here because my Igbo ancestors of eastern Nigeria practised some Hebraic customs in ancient and precolonial times. Sadly, overly zealous Christian missionaries and arrogant, perfidious British colonial/imperial adventurers forced them to abandon those practices. These cultural imperialists systematically destroyed holy places, sanctuaries and artifacts. Many Igbos are gradually beginning to return to their Hebraic roots and pre-missionary religious tradition. In 1789, Olauda Equiano, an Igbo and former slave who lived in London, wrote in his autobiography, The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, that the Igbos were one of the lost tribes of Israel. He cited many identical cultural similarities between them and the Jews.

Several examples: eating of animals that meet the Biblically clean requirements and complete draining of blood from the animal as well as other laws concerning Kashrut (Kosher animals); animal sacrifice like in the Levitical sacrificial system; circumcision on the 8th day and naming ceremony of the 8-day old child; giving names that bear the name and title of God within them; belief in a Supreme, Omnipotent Deity (Chukwu) above all other deities; Shemita and Jubilee years (the annulment of debt and servitude every seven and fifty years); burying the dead facing the East – the direction of Jerusalem and the Promised Land; sitting Shiva (seven-day mourning period when a wife sits on a low stool, remains unkempt and shaves her hair in grief); Levirate-type marriages – a brother marries a deceased brother’s wife to carry on the brother’s name; communally organized and celebrated initiation rite of passage into adolescence.

My ideal woman is natural; she does not rely heavily on cosmetic products to look good and feel good in her own skin. She carries very light baggage from the past. A woman of integrity, gentle, gracious, empathetic, kind, an engaging conversationalist with a sharp intellect. A matriarch who is confident, virtuous, has a good sense of fashion and humour; sophisticated yet humble and down-to-earth, looks at the bright side of life, despite its ups and downs. Someone who doesn't pretend, and has no qualms whatsoever about sending strong come-on signals to the partner she wants, whenever and wherever she meets/sees him. Realistic/pragmatic and out-of-the-box thinker.
On the first dateA slow-paced delicious and light lunch, followed a bit later by a leisurely stroll in the park, along the beach or a visit to the museum/art gallery. Convivial atmosphere animated from start to finish with interesting, free-flowing, jovial and wide-ranging conversation.

Sports

Enjoys playingBadminton, Bicycling & Cycling, Table Tennis
Enjoys watchingAthletics, Badminton, Basketball, Bicycling, Football, Gymnastics, Motorcycle Racing, Skating, Softball, Swimming and Diving, Table Tennis, Tennis
Favorite teamReal Madrid (soccer)

Exercising Preferences

ExcercisesAerobics, Walking, Weightlifting